augusta free press news

Governor McAuliffe directs Secure Commonwealth panel to study law enforcement technologies

virginiaGovernor McAuliffe announced this week the creation of a special sub-panel of the Secure Commonwealth Panel that will focus on the use of emerging technologies by law enforcement agencies.

The 31 members of the group will explore constitutional, personal privacy, economic and public safety issues related to the use of new and increasingly sophisticated technologies, weighing their benefits as well as their challenges.

“The Secure Commonwealth Panel is the ideal group to lead this initiative,” Governor McAuliffe said.  “This bipartisan group includes a broad-based group of experts from my Administration, the legislature, law enforcement and the private sector. The citizens of our Commonwealth, and those who protect them, are best served with a deliberate and thoughtful approach to these complex public policy issues.”

The sub-panel will work with community, technology and public safety stakeholders to identify, evaluate and make recommendations for implementing evidence-based programs throughout Virginia.

During the first two meetings, the sub-panel will explore the use of body-worn cameras by law enforcement officers.  Members of the sub-panel will address topics such as data storage and retention, equipment, and rules for handling evidence.

“The sub-panel members represent a wealth of diverse backgrounds, knowledge, and points of view that will help us achieve an appropriate balance,” said Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security Brian Moran.  “As we explore the use of these technologies, we must recognize personal privacy as well as public safety interests.”

Members of the Sub-Panel are as follows:

  • Brian Moran, Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security, Chair
  • Karen Jackson, Secretary of Technology
  • Tonya Vincent, Deputy Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security
  • Sen. John Watkins, Co-Chair, Secure Commonwealth Panel
  • John Bell, Deputy Chief of Police, Virginia Beach Police Department, Co-Chair, Secure Commonwealth Panel
  • Wendell Fuller, President, 100 Black Men of Greater Richmond
  • Fran Ecker, Director, Department of Criminal Justice Services
  • Banci Tewolde, Associate Director, Department of Planning and Budget
  • Kevin Carroll, President, Fraternal Order of Police
  • Douglas Middleton, Chief of Police, Henrico County Police Department
  • David Johnson, Executive Director, Indigent Defense Commission
  • Hassan Aden, Director of Research and Programs, International Association of Chiefs of Police
  • Arthur Townsend, Sheriff, Lunenburg County
  • Carmen Taylor, President, Virginia Chapter, NAACP
  • Michael Goldsmith, Chief of Police, Norfolk Police Department
  • Linda Bryant, Deputy Attorney General, Office of the Attorney General
  • Lt. Col. Barry Barnard, Police Executive Research Forum
  • Alfred Durham, Chief of Police, Richmond Police Department
  • Henry Chambers, Professor, University of Richmond School of Law
  • Aryn Frazier, Incoming President, University of Virginia Black Student Alliance
  • Hudaidah Bhimdi Ahmed, Secretary, Virginia Asian Advisory Board
  • Dana Schrad, Executive Director, Virginia Association of Chiefs of Police
  • Nancy Parr, President, Virginia Association of Commonwealth’s Attorneys
  • Bill Robertson, Virginia Association of Counties
  • Lynda O’Connell, Executive Director, Virginia Center for Policing Innovation
  • Vivian Sanchez-Jones, Member, Virginia Latino Advisory Board
  • Kimball Payne, City Manager, City of Lynchburg, Virginia Municipal League
  • Jay Speer, Executive Director, Virginia Poverty Law Center
  • John Jones, Executive Director, Virginia Sheriffs’ Association
  • Col. Steven Flaherty, Superintendent, Virginia State Police
  • D.J. Smith, President, Virginia State Police Association