Governor creates committee to reduce energy consumption in the private sector

virginia-newGovernor Terry McAuliffe today announced the formation of the Governor’s Executive Committee on Energy Efficiency. The Executive Committee is comprised of public and private sector stakeholders that will develop strategies and recommendations to achieve the goal of a ten percent reduction in retail electricity consumption in the Commonwealth by 2020.

This goal was originally recommended in the 2007 Virginia Energy Plan by then Governor Tim Kaine, and Governor McAuliffe has accelerated the timeline of achieving this goal by two years to 2020.

Speaking about today’s announcement, Governor McAuliffe said, “The energy sector is a key strategic growth area as we work to build a new Virginia economy, and improving energy efficiency is one of the real opportunities.  I have put together this talented group of people to help ensure that we meet our goal in an accelerated time frame.”

The Executive Committee will be overseen by Secretary of Commerce and Trade Maurice Jones and will be staffed by the Energy Division of the Virginia Department of Mines, Minerals, and Energy.

“Businesses grow and prosper when they are maximizing the efficient use of their resources,” said Secretary Jones.  “This committee will provide guidance and recommend tools to help businesses increase efficient use of energy while reducing their energy costs.  Energy efficiency is good for business, good for the environment and good for the economy.”

Details of the role and duties of the Governor’s Executive Committee on Energy Efficiency can be found in the recommendations section of the 2014 Virginia Energy Plan:

The following individuals have been appointed to the Committee:

  • Cynthia Adams of Charlottesville, Executive Director, LEAP Virginia
  • Ken Barker of Richmond, Vice President, Technical Solutions, Dominion Virginia Power
  • Carol Davis of Blacksburg, Sustainability Manager, Town of Blacksburg
  • Jim Fawcett of Charleston, West Virginia, Manager, Energy Efficiency & Alternative Energy Initiatives, Appalachian Power Company
  • Bill Greenleaf of Richmond, Loan Officer, Virginia Community Capital, Inc.
  • David Koogler of Hanover, Vice President, Customer Services, Rappahannock Electric Cooperative
  • Angela Navarro of Charlottesville, Staff Attorney, Southern Environmental Law Center
  • Michele Peterson of Richmond, Senior Energy Business Consultant, Honeywell
  • Bill Prindle of Charlottesville, Vice President, ICF International
  • Saifur Rahman of McLean, Joseph Loring Professor and Director, Advanced Research Institute, Virginia Tech
  • William Reisinger of Richmond, Assistant Attorney General, Office of the Attorney General of Virginia
  • Dana Wiggins of Richmond, Responsible Lending Coordinator, Virginia Poverty Law Center
uva basketball team of destiny
Team of Destiny: Inside Virginia Basketball’s Run to the 2019 National Championship, by Jerry Ratcliffe and Chris Graham, is available for $25.

The book, with additional reporting by Zach Pereles, Scott Ratcliffe and Scott German, will take you from the aftermath of the stunning first-round loss to UMBC in 2018, and how coach Tony Bennett and his team used that loss as the source of strength, through to the ACC regular-season championship, the run to the Final Four, and the thrilling overtime win over Texas Tech to win the 2019 national title, the first in school history.
augusta free press

Related Content

Shop Google


%d bloggers like this: