Foundation awards more than $40K in college scholarships

The Community Foundation of the Central Blue Ridge announces scholarship awards over $40,000 to 30 area students.  Each scholarship has its own specific purpose, selection and eligibility criteria. The selection process is managed in a variety of ways, depending on the wishes of the donor.

“We are thrilled and thankful to be able to offer scholarships worth over $40,000 to students in our community. We are grateful to local donors who show their passion for education by supporting these students.  By minimizing the financial concerns of these individuals, they can focus on their studies and achieve what they set out to do,” said Becky Kohler, president/CEO of the Community Foundation.

2012 Community Foundation Scholarship recipients:

Fort Defiance High School
Janie Layne, Ethel Driver Memorial Scholarship
Vanessa Rodriguez, Fritz Stout Memorial Scholarship

Riverheads High School
Victoria Cempe-Cohen, Morgan R. Funk Memorial Scholarship
Kelsey Campbell, Christopher D. Rockwell Memorial Scholarship
Tommy Morgan, R.S. Yeago, Jr. Scholarship
Ashley Gartin, Community Scholarship for Excellence

Robert E. Lee High School
Madelyn Tinsley, The McSwain Scholarship
Matthew Nabers, Martin Lightsey Scholarship for Technical Education

Stuarts Draft High School
Miranda Beard, Roy B. Martin Memorial Scholarship-SDHS and John W. Greene Memorial Scholarship
Dillon Bruce, A. Gordon Houff Memorial Scholarship and Martin Lightsey Scholarship for Technical Education

Waynesboro High School
Shawna Smith, V.F. and Susan S. Reynolds Scholarship
Wayne Cody, Martin Lightsey Scholarship for Technical Education and Roy B. Martin Memorial Scholarship-WHS
Alycia East, Lindsay Ree Hyson Memorial Scholarship and Waynesboro High School Alumni Scholarship
Rebecca Eldredge, Louis and Emily M. Spilman Scholarship
Jonelle Jones, Kenneth L. Jones Memorial Scholarship

Adult/Other Scholarships
Taylor Evans, Tyler James Grimm Memorial Scholarship
Tara Morrison, John W. Greene Memorial Scholarship
Charles Hunter Shomo, II, John W. Greene Memorial Scholarship
Christopher Ott, John W. Greene Memorial Scholarship

This dynamic group, composed mostly of 2012 high school graduates, will begin college in the fall–pursuing careers in a variety of fields including nursing, education, environmental studies, theatre and engineering.

The Community Foundation’s next scholarship award cycle will occur in 2013.

Augusta Health Kris McMackin CPA
augusta free press news
Augusta Free Press