Augusta Free Press

CTB awards two roads contracts totaling $18.7 million

The Commonwealth Transportation Board (CTB) approved two contracts at their monthly meeting today totaling $18.7 million for maintenance and construction projects in the Virginia Department of Transportation’s (VDOT) Salem and Northern Virginia Districts.


Bridge over railroad on Backlick Road in Fairfax County will be replaced to allow third rail track

A $5.6 million contract was awarded to Shirley Contracting Company, LLC of Lorton to replace the existing bridge that carries Backlick Road over rail tracks in VDOT’s Northern Virginia District. The new bridge will accommodate the addition of a third rail track and increase the vertical clearance above the tracks for potential future electrification as part of the Atlantic Gateway Project, which includes the D.C. to Richmond Southeast High Speed Rail project.

The project is expected to be complete by spring 2019.


Bridge on Route 220 over Back Creek in Roanoke County will be replaced

A $13.1 million contract was awarded to Fielder’s Choice Enterprises, Inc. of Charlottesville to replace the existing bridge that carries Route 220 over Back Creek in the Salem District. The current structure was built in 1947.

The new bridge will provide wider shoulders, and earthwork will improve sight distance at the intersection with Crowell Gap Road.

The project is expected to be complete in spring 2020.

Team of Destiny: Inside Virginia Basketball’s Run to the 2019 National Championship, by Jerry Ratcliffe and Chris Graham, is now available at a special pre-sale discounted price of $20. The book is expected to ship by June 10, 2019, and will retail for $25.
Pre-order for $20: click here.

The book, with additional reporting by Zach Pereles, Scott Ratcliffe and Scott German, will take you from the aftermath of the stunning first-round loss to UMBC in 2018, and how coach Tony Bennett and his team used that loss as the source of strength, through to the ACC regular-season championship, the run to the Final Four, and the thrilling overtime win over Texas Tech to win the 2019 national title, the first in school history.