County Farm Bureaus recognized for excellence of local programs

virginia farm bureauFarm Bureaus in Albemarle, Bland, Campbell, Prince William-Fairfax and Washington were recognized Nov. 27 by Virginia Farm Bureau Federation for their work in educating the public and promoting agriculture and Farm Bureau.

As a result of their cultivation and retention of members and their promotional and community activities, the five organizations received Best in State and New Horizon awards at the 2018 VFBF Annual Convention in Hot Springs.

Albemarle County Farm Bureau, led by President Richard Fox, won a Best in State Award for its work to discourage Albemarle County from implementing a stormwater utility with an impervious surface fee.

Washington County Farm Bureau, led by President Kevin Thayer, won a Best in State Award for the organization’s calendar, which featured agricultural photos from members and helped promote the county and Farm Bureau.

VFBF presented three New Horizon Awards in recognition of new and innovative county Farm Bureau programs.

Bland County Farm Bureau, led by President Bill Crabtree, received a New Horizon Award for its antique tractor and farm equipment show, which was part of the 2nd Annual Bland County Heritage Day.

Campbell County Farm Bureau, led by President Harry Robey, received a New Horizon Award for its involvement in the Bluegrass, Crops & Critters event.

Prince William-Fairfax Farm Bureau, led by President Helen Taylor, received a New Horizon Award for its Farm-to-Table Dinner.

With 129,000 members in 88 county Farm Bureaus, VFBF is Virginia’s largest farmers’ advocacy group. Farm Bureau is a non-governmental, nonpartisan, voluntary organization committed to supporting Virginia’s agriculture industry. View more convention news as it becomes available at and follow us on social media via #drivingagforward and #VFBFconvention18.

uva basketball team of destiny
Team of Destiny: Inside Virginia Basketball’s Run to the 2019 National Championship, by Jerry Ratcliffe and Chris Graham, is now available at a special pre-sale discounted price of $20. The book is expected to ship by June 10, 2019, and will retail for $25.
Pre-order for $20: click here.

The book, with additional reporting by Zach Pereles, Scott Ratcliffe and Scott German, will take you from the aftermath of the stunning first-round loss to UMBC in 2018, and how coach Tony Bennett and his team used that loss as the source of strength, through to the ACC regular-season championship, the run to the Final Four, and the thrilling overtime win over Texas Tech to win the 2019 national title, the first in school history.
augusta free press

Related Content

Shop Google


%d bloggers like this: