Community Foundation announces scholarships

Edited by Chris Graham

The Community Foundation of the Central Blue Ridge announces awards of nearly $50,000 in scholarships to 38 area students.

“We are so excited and thankful to be able to offer these scholarships that potentially open doors that may have otherwise remained closed. By minimizing the financial concerns of these young adults, they can focus on their studies and achieve what they set out to do,” said Becky Kohler, president/CEO of the Community Foundation.

The following students have been awarded scholarship grants this year. This dynamic group, composed mostly of 2010 high school graduates, will begin college in the fall – pursuing careers in a variety of fields including nursing, education, environmental studies and engineering.

Fort Defiance High School
Kathryn Dunsmore, Anna Martinez-Esparza, Andrew Tucker

Nelson County High School
Noelle Turley

Riverheads High School
Autumn Berry, Nathaniel Burkholder, Benjamin Folsom, Rebecca Grubb, Adam Ritter, Cory Sandridge

Robert E. Lee High School
Carrie Anson

Stuarts Draft High School
Emily Barrett, Arthur Bern

Waynesboro High School
Emmett Crawford, Matthew Jenny, Emya Lee, Suzanne McLean, Molly Ross, Kyle Sandridge

Wilson Memorial High School
Carrie Mawyer, Haley Squier

Adult Scholarships/Other
Fonda Hamric, William Harding, Whitney McCormick, Jennifer Noble, Christopher Ott, Ryan Tercho

Each scholarship has its own specific purpose, application, selection and eligibility criteria. The selection process is managed in a variety of ways, depending on the wishes of the donor. The Community Foundation’s next scholarship grant cycle will occur in 2011.

augusta free press news