Careless driving ticket In NJ
Careless driving refers to driving without reasonable consideration for other drivers, vehicles, and pedestrians on the road. Although it differs from reckless driving in that the latter is a major moving traffic violation, careless driving is considered a less serious offense that does carry fees and points. It is also the most common traffic offense in the state of New Jersey.
There are many reasons why you may receive a New Jersey careless driving ticket. You may be caught while talking on the phone behind the wheel or because you have fallen asleep while driving. But other small actions may also result in getting a careless driving ticket in New Jersey, such as forgetting to signal when changing lanes. Yet, you may not receive a ticket unless you are found to be at fault in an accident.
What Are The Legal Consequences For Careless Driving in New Jersey?
When you get a ticket for careless driving in New Jersey you do not have the option of pleading guilty by paying the fine. You must go to court to answer the charges. Penalties can involve fines of up to $1,000.00, serving up to six months in jail and having your driver’s license suspended for a period of up to two years.
How Does The NJ Points System Work For Driving Offenses?
Getting a speeding ticket or any kind of moving violation is a serious matter. Every time you are charged and found guilty of any kind of moving violation in New Jersey, points will be added to your license. These will depend on the type of violation but generally, range between 2 and 8.
What Happens When You Accumulate Too Many Points?
There are a host of consequences when you accumulate points. Here are some possible outcomes:
- If you get as few as two points, your insurance rates may increase.
- If the number rises to four, you may have trouble getting insurance or your insurance company may decide to cancel your policy. Or your policy may cost you considerably more.
- If you accumulate 28 or more points in a period of two years or less, your license can be suspended for up to 180 days.
- If you have a commercial license, you could risk losing it and be ineligible to have it reinstated.
What Is The Cost Of A Careless Driving Ticket In New Jersey?
Any person that is convicted or pleads guilty to careless driving will receive an $85 fine. This amount increases to $140 if the violation happens in a 65-mile-an-hour area, a safe corridor or in a construction zone. Additionally, you may be charged surcharges and court fees, if applicable.
How Can You Fight A Careless Driving Ticket in New Jersey?
If you have received a careless driving ticket in New Jersey, you don’t have to fight it alone. You should have the right Careless Driving Ticket Attorney in New Jersey by your side to help you fight the charge and thus avoid a steady progression of annoyances, financial costs, and possibly even jail time.
Contact the legal team at Stabile Law Firm, your careless driving NJ law firm. We have a proven track record for fighting careless driving tickets in New Jersey and will fight to get you the results you want. Give us a call today to receive your free consultation and get this matter resolved.
UVA Basketball Fans!
Dick Vitale on Team of Destiny: “This is a hoops story you will LOVE! Jerry and Chris capture the sensational and dramatic championship journey by Tony Bennett and his tenacious Cavalier team. UVA was Awesome Baby and so is this book!”
Ralph Sampson on Team of Destiny: “Jerry and Chris have lived and seen it all, even before my time. I highly recommend this book to every basketball fan across the globe. This story translates to all who know defeat and how to overcome it!”
Feedback from buyers: “Got the Book in the Mail Saturday, and could not put it down! Great read and great photography as well! Love all of the books I’ve received, but hands down, this is my favorite!” – Russell