augusta free press news

BC announces presidential search committee

Nathan H. Miller, chair of the Bridgewater College board of trustees, announced today the formation of a committee that will conduct the search for the next president of Bridgewater College.

President George Cornelius announced March 6 that he will let his contract with the college expire at the end of the current academic year. Executive vice president Roy W. Ferguson Jr. will serve as interim president.

The committee members are:

The Hon. G. Steven Agee, chair.
Agee, a 1974 graduate of Bridgewater College, currently serves as a judge on the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit. A member of the Bridgewater College board of trustees since 1985, Agee has served as a member of the Virginia House of Delegates, a judge on the Court of Appeals of Virginia and as a justice on the Supreme Court of Virginia.

Debra M. Allen
A certified public accountant and treasurer of Sidney B. Allen Jr. Builder Inc., Allen is a 1978 graduate of Bridgewater College. She is the current president of the Bridgewater College Alumni Association.

William S. Earhart
A certified public accountant, Earhart is a 1966 graduate of Bridgewater College. He is treasurer of Heatwole/Miller, a real estate management and development company in Woodbridge, Va. A member of the board of trustees since 2002, Earhart has long been active in Bridgewater’s fundraising efforts.

Michael K. Kyles M.D.
Dr. Michael K. Kyles, Bridgewater class of 1972, is an orthopedic surgeon on the medical staff of Halifax Regional Hospital in South Boston, Va. He is a 1975 graduate of the Medical College of Virginia in Richmond, and specialized in spine surgery before joining the general orthopedics practice of MacCarthy, Sparks and Kyles last year. Kyles has been a member of the BC board of trustees since 1996.

Judy Mills Reimer
The Rev. Judy Mills Reimer has been a member of the board of trustees at Bridgewater College since 2004. A 1962 graduate of Emory & Henry College, she is the founding pastor of the Smith Mountain Lake Church of the Brethren Fellowship and has served as general secretary of the Church of the Brethren.

Robert I. Stolzman
A 1983 graduate of Bridgewater College and a trustee since 2003, Robert I. Stolzman is a partner in the Providence, R.I., law firm of Adler, Pollock & Sheehan. He has served in leadership roles for Bridgewater as a former president of the Alumni Association and a class agent.

James H. Walsh
James H. Walsh is a partner with the law firm of McGuireWoods LLP in Richmond, Va., a firm with more than 800 lawyers in 15 offices throughout the world. He graduated from Bridgewater College in 1968, and was elected to the BC board of trustees in 1991.

W. Steve Watson Jr.
W. Steve Watson Jr., who holds the Lawrence S. and Carmen C. Miller Chair of Ethics, is an associate professor of philosophy and religion at Bridgewater College. Professor Watson joined the BC faculty in 1970.

Kathy G. Wright
Kathy G. Wright, BC class of 1981, is logistics coordinator for Philip Morris USA Inc. She joined the BC board of trustees in 2007, and has served as president of the Bridgewater College Alumni Association.

“We have such a diverse and talented board, it was not difficult to find strong, qualified members to serve,” said Miller, adding that Professor Watson will “bring an important faculty perspective to the committee’s deliberations.”

The committee will immediately begin a national search for the college’s next president.

augusta free press
augusta free press