ACC well represented at the ESPYs

ACC letters - full-colorSeven former and current ACC student-athletes, in addition to one team are among the finalists for recognition in ESPN’s annual awards show.

One current student-athlete (Florida State’s Jameis Winston), six former student-athletes (Boston College’s Luke Kuechly and Johnny Gaudreau, Louisville’s Angel McCoughtry, NC State’s Russell Wilson, Pittsburgh’s LeSean McCoy, and Virginia’s Morgan Brian) and one program (the 2013 Florida State football team) fill out the ballot representing the ACC and its 15 member schools.

Winston (football) and Gaudreau (ice hockey) are nominated for Best Male College Athlete, while Brian (women’s soccer) is up for Best Female College Athlete. Kuechly, McCoy and Wilson are nominated for Best NFL Player and McCoughtry is up for Best WNBA Player. The 2013 Florida State football team is nominated for Best Team.

An ESPY is an award presented by ESPN to recognize excellence in sports performance and achievement during the calendar year.

Fans can vote online for the ESPY’s at The show will air live on ESPN at 9 p.m. ET on Wednesday, July 16.


ESPY Award Nominees:

  • Best Team – Florida State Football
  • Best NFL Player – Boston College’s Luke Kuechly, Pittsburgh’s LeSean McCoy, NC State’s Russell Wilson
  • Best WNBA Player – Louisville’s Angel McCoughtry
  • Best Male College Athlete – Boston College’s Johnny Gaudreau, Florida State’s Jameis Winston
  • Best Female College Athlete – Virginia’s Morgan Brian

uva basketball team of destiny

Team of Destiny: Inside UVA Basketball's improbable run

Team of Destiny: Inside Virginia Basketball’s Run to the 2019 National Championship, by Jerry Ratcliffe and Chris Graham, is available for $25.

The book, with additional reporting by Zach Pereles, Scott Ratcliffe and Scott German, will take you from the aftermath of the stunning first-round loss to UMBC in 2018, and how coach Tony Bennett and his team used that loss as the source of strength, through to the ACC regular-season championship, the run to the Final Four, and the thrilling overtime win over Texas Tech to win the 2019 national title, the first in school history.

augusta free press

Related Content

Shop Google


%d bloggers like this: