A guide to Florida car accident claims

If you have been the victim of a car accident in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, you have probably encountered a labyrinth of paperwork and legal terminology that makes filing an insurance claim time consuming and frustrating. It is important not to give up when you have experienced property damage or suffered physical injury after an accident. You are entitled to compensation and justice. Insurance companies will to their best to exhaust you until you stop trying. If you want to get the compensation you deserve, you must gather all the necessary documentation, fill out all the required paperwork and most importantly, find a good Fort Lauderdale car accident lawyer.

What to Do at the Scene of an Accident

An accident is an upsetting experience, and many people go into shock immediately following a collision. Although it is difficult, it is important to try and remain calm. Call the police and wait for them to arrive. Never agree to settle with the other driver without calling the police first. Get names of any witnesses at the scene and take pictures if you are physically able to do so. Visit your doctor as soon as you possibly can and get a full written report from them.

What Your Insurance Agency Needs to Know

You must call your insurance agency as soon as possible after an accident. They will need to know the exact time and location of the accident as well as all the details. They will need a copy of the accident report before paying any claim and they are likely to try and avoid paying everything they owe.

Determining the Economic Impact of a Car Accident

Figuring out exactly how much a car accident has cost you can be more difficult than it sounds. You must document, not only your medical and auto repair bills, but the hours you have lost from work, the cost of child care and the cost of transportation to and from the hospital. Be sure to save every receipt for expenses related to your accident to show to the insurance company.

Tort Laws in Florida

Florida is a no-fault state, which means that in the event of an accident, both drivers will first go to their insurance companies regardless of fault. Floridians are required to carry $10,000 of liability insurance for personal injury and $10,000 of insurance for damages to property. However, there is a limit to the personal injury protection offered through insurance and an injured driver can sue an at fault driver for damages. Florida politicians feel this happens too often and they are currently pushing for tort reform, which would limit the amount of money that can be awarded to accident victims.

Should you hire an attorney?

If you are seeking damages for a car accident in Florida, it is a very good idea to hire an attorney .Insurance companies are armed with entire legal departments whose job it is to make sure they don’t have to pay out as much as they owe accident victims. You need an experienced lawyer, who understands what insurance companies look for and knows how to advocate on your behalf. If you have been injured in an accident, call Friedland & Associates – Fort Lauderdale Car Accident Attorney. They can provide you with professional and thorough legal representation and get you the money you deserve. Having a car accident is hard enough, a good lawyer can take the confusion out of getting well.

Authoritative Sources*


augusta free press news