39 troopers joining ranks of Virginia State Police

virginia state policeThe Commonwealth will graduate its 128th generation of Virginia State Troopers at a ceremony on Friday.

The new troopers, all of whom entered the Academy as pre-certified law enforcement officers, have received more than 300 hours of classroom and field instruction in nearly 50 different subjects, including defensive tactics, crime scene investigation, ethics and leadership, police professionalism, firearms, judicial procedures, officer survival and crisis management.

The members of the 128th Basic Session began their eight weeks of academic, physical and practical training at the Academy on April 26, 2018.

The soon-to-be graduates of the 128th Basic Session are from every corner of the Commonwealth, including King George County, Fredericksburg, Chesapeake, Rappahannock, Lynchburg, Danville and Wise County.

Upon graduation, the new troopers will report to their individual duty assignments across Virginia beginning July 5, for their final phase of training. Each trooper will spend an additional six weeks paired up with a Field Training Officer learning his or her new patrol area.


Name Hometown VSP Duty Assignment
Joshua Joseph Angel Courtland Southampton
Christopher Cory Angell Lynch Station Campbell
Aobidulla Aziz Ashburn Fairfax
Steven Richard Ball Bassett Henry
Benjamin Ira Bone Richmond Henrico
Roman Borshch Hopewell Prince George
James Robert Brooks Suffolk Hampton
Sara Katherine Burke-Smith Rappahannock Culpeper
David Newton Clark Nathalie Halifax
Jarrett Steven Combs Hillsville Wythe
Joel Patrick Crigger Crockett Bland
Mark Alton Daulton Lynchburg Campbell
Travis Wayne Eastridge Danville Pittsylvania
David Matthew Fleenor Bumpass Hanover
Kyle Patrick Gibson Blue Ridge Bedford
Andrew Paul Hansen Fredericksburg Stafford
Joshua Lee Harris Smithfield Hampton/Newport News
Larry Lee Holmes Nassawadox Chesapeake
Justin Curtis Joiner Penn  Laird Rockingham
Joshua Wayne Joseph Weyers Cave Rockingham
Heather Elyse Kelly Harrisonburg Rockingham
Aaron Michael Lawson Wise Dickenson
Chad Allen Lightner Head Waters Highland
James Travis Lotts Stuarts Draft Augusta
Matthew Charles McCrory Powhatan Chesterfield
Stuart Dale Pauley Meadowview Frederick
John Ephrim Piersol King George Stafford
Raphael Alexis Pilato Chesapeake Norfolk
Michael David Rose Clintwood Wytheville  (Special Agent Accountant)
Pedro Yobani Aguilar Salamanca Pulaski Bland
Mark Casey Scott Lynchburg Appomattox
Christopher Shane Simpkins Danville Pittsylvania
Clint Lee Slaughter Bland Bland
Jacob Alan Vaughan Galax Wythe
Samuel Heath Viars Max Meadows Bland
Jason Roy Ward Glen Allen Hanover
Michael Shawn Ward Topping Middlesex
Terry Edward Woods Galax Fairfax
James Edward Yarrington, III Saluda King and Queen

augusta free press news