Augusta Free Press

Live Blog: The first 2016 presidential debate

AFP editor Chris Graham leads a live blog during the opening presidential debate of the general election season with Democrat Hillary Clinton and Republican Donald Trump.

 

Debate Details: First Presidential Debate from Hofstra University

Air Time: 9pm ET (8pm CT, 7pm MT, 6pm PT, basically live in whatever 9pm ET is equivalent to in your time zone)

TV: Each debate will be broadcast live on C-SPAN, ABC, CBS, FOX and NBC, as well as all cable news channels including CNN, Fox News and MSNBC among others.

Candidates: Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump
Moderator: Lester Holt of NBC News

Rules: The first debate will be divided into six time segments of approximately 15 minutes each on major topics to be selected by the moderator and announced at least one week before the debate. The moderator will open each segment with a question, after which each candidate will have two minutes to respond. Candidates will then have an opportunity to respond to each other. The moderator will use the balance of the time in the segment for a deeper discussion of the topic.

 

Live Stream

Alternate Live Stream Links: C-SPAN, Twitter, CNN, NewsMax, CBS News

 

2016 Debate Schedule

First presidential debate (Mon, Sept. 26)
Vice presidential debate (Tues, Oct. 4)
Second presidential debate (Sun, Oct. 9)
Third presidential debate (Wed, Oct. 19)

Subscribe

Augusta Free Press content is available for free, as it has been since 2002, save for a disastrous one-month experiment at putting some content behind a pay wall back in 2009.

(We won’t ever try that again. Almost killed us!)

That said, it’s free to read, but it still costs us money to produce. The site is updated several times a day, every day, 365 days a year, 366 days on the leap year.

(Stuff still happens on Christmas Day, is what we’re saying there.)

AFP does well in drawing advertisers, but who couldn’t use an additional source of revenue?

From time to time, readers ask us how they can support us, and we usually say, keep reading.

Now we’re saying, you can drop us a few bucks, if you’re so inclined.

Click here!